The Young European Movement Society – University of South Wales (YEM -USW) in co-operation with Cardiff Young European Movement (CYEM) were extremely pleased to host a great event!

Our inaugural talk was given by David Melding AM.

David Melding is the Conservative AM for South Wales Central and Deputy Presiding Officer of the National Assembly for Wales and gave a talk about:

“The position of Wales within the European Union”

David is one of the Vice Presidents of the Welsh Council of the European Movement (WCEM).

It was a great honour and privilege for our university and our two groups to host a talk from such a high profile Pro-European Welsh politician.

The event took place at Atlantic House – University of South Wales.

David was introduced from the Chair of both groups Michael Arapis.

The talk was very informative and dealt with the history of the United Kingdom (UK) and Wales in particular throughout the period of its membership in the European Union (EU) and the challenges ahead.

Moreover, David took questions from the attendees that focused on the impending referendum and the consequences of a possible exit from the European Union. Furthermore, he addressed the concerns of the audience in regards to the legal status of citizens of other EU states that reside in the UK and what would be the positions of UK citizens residing in other member states in the occasion of a Brexit. Nevertheless, David and the members of the audience share the belief that the British people will vote to stay in the EU hence all these scenarios will not materialise.

Finally, our committee gave David a copy of the book “Princes of Wales” as a token of appreciation for his kindness to accept our invitation and visit our University for this talk.

We would like to thank all the people that attended and we are looking forward to see you all to our future events!

You can contact us on our facebook page where you can see photos of the event:

by emailing,

or alternatively, text/call  07414657351.

Our USW YEM committee:

Michael Arapis  – Chair

Nikolas Pitjiolis – Vice-Chair / Treasurer

Maria Athanasiou – Secretary



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s